A CHAT: With actress & producer Marie Forster

Films By Ashley
3 min readFeb 21, 2024
Photo by David Reisler

With the upcoming release of the short film The Screeching, films by Ashley decided to sit down. And talk with The actress.

Have you ever done anything regarding horror? How did you prepare for the character of Linda.

Part of my excitement about this project came from it being one of my first experiences in the horror genre. What I discovered during my work on Linda was that I wanted her to shine in her relatable yet mysterious essence - she finds herself in an extraordinary situation and takes us with her on a journey that I hope will feel believable for the audience. As I always discover new ways to prepare for each character, this one was extra fun since it allowed me to go deep into mystery and darkness. I asked myself „How would I feel in this situation?“ many times.

When it comes to filmmaking, what is your favorite part of it all? And what's your favorite genre of film to work on.

I love the moment in filmmaking when everything flows together - the moment when all the hard work of all departments flows together and magically creates a new world and brings a story to life. That’s why premieres are so special I think, it’s always an extraordinarily magical moment to me.

As an actress I enjoy working on projects of several genres - after shooting drama, comedy will make my heart dance and after horror, a historical project may add new aspects to my life. That’s part of the beauty for me - being able to work in many different worlds at the same time.

In the Screeching, what was your favorite line to recite? And what is your personal favorite old school horror film. From any decade.

I enjoyed diving into The Screeching, my favorite moment was Linda saying „…and so have I…“ since we learn something new and maybe even unexpected about Linda. She’s not just trapped and afraid, not a damsel in distress - but prepared and ready to take action.

One of my favorite old school horror films is PSYCHO. I will never forget the tingling suspense, the darkness, the uncomfortable yet deep excitement I felt when I watched it for the first time! A true masterpiece.

When it comes to acting, do you sometimes find it difficult to prepare for a role. Or is it easy for you? And what other projects do you currently have in the works.

I find that every part I work on demands a different kind of preparation. Some characters come to me with such ease that I might get anxious about the small amount of effort it takes to work on them whilst others need much more attention and energy before a shoot - some require learning a specific skill or diving unexpectedly deep into my own subconscious. I enjoy all of them - discovering new worlds and characters is one of the greatest gifts for me.

I am currently working on a comedy character for a German series - full of heart and very inexperienced at her new job. I am looking forward to playing her later this year!

Lastly, what do you think the future of films and filmmaking looks like? Is it getting better or worse.

I just attended the Berlinale and it gave me great hope for films and filmmaking. I think that the intensity of the events in the world around us will be extra fuel for all creative minds and souls on this planet and I expect to see great films in the future!

The Screeching, coming soon March 16th! Be sure to check out some of Marie’s work as well. Stay tuned.

https://m.imdb.com/name/nm9885927/

--

--

Films By Ashley
0 Followers

An independent film production company, that focuses on genres such as Drama and Horror.